Every spiritual warrior needs his/her own moral code. Why? Forming your own moral code with help you navigate the sometimes overwhelming mental/ emotional/ physical/ spiritual planes of life. Often times most inner and outer imbalances have something to do with doing, saying, or thinking things that go against our values. By forming our values, we solidify in our minds and hearts what we believe in, what we allow ourselves to do, and what we allow into our lives.

Most of us don’t even know what we believe in. We know what religion wants us to believe, what politicians want us to believe, but most of us have never sat down and really thought, “what do I believe in?” Most of us have been brainwashed into believing in the moral codes of society, or others whom we look up to. I invite you to sit down and write a list of your own personal virtues. Do not be afraid to stand up for what you believe in. Don’t be afraid to believe in living your life according to your virtues because you fear what others may think of you. YOU are living YOUR life!

I was first inspired to create my own code after reading about the life of Benjamin Franklin, a man I truly admire. His list of virtues numbered to thirteen, mine is composed of nine (fun fact: nine is a scared ninja number), some of which I absorbed from Benjamin Franklin’s own virtues.

“Absorb what is useful, discard what is not.” – Bruce Lee.

Don’t hesitate because you are not sure exactly which virtues you should live by. Life is in constant motion. Everything changes, nothing escapes time and change. ( Mujo) So do not worry if you feel the need to change your virtues or what they mean to you as time passes. To adapt is to survive. Go with the flow.

The following are my nine chosen virtues. I shall be dissecting and elaborating on each of these virtues in later posts. Be sure to read why I chose my virtues and be sure you can explain why you chose your own. Why did you decide on the virtues you chose? How do they help move you towards being the person you want to be?

  1. Truth– Be honest, tell no lies, live a life honest to your purpose and your values. (Truth)
  2. Courage– Do not live your life controlled by fear. Fear will be experienced anyways; rise above it and execute the right action.
  3. Order– Be organized and manage your time efficiently. Give all your possessions their proper place, and give all your business its proper time. (Order)
  4. Strength– Be capable of performing hard tasks, both mentally and physically. Exercise every day, strong body= strong mind. (Strength)
  5. Perseverance– Have an indomitable will. Never give up and work until you obtain your goals. The universe will test you to see if you are deserving of what you wish to have. Do not give up until you deserve it. (Perseverance)
  6. Silence– Use your word only to empower yourself and others. Say what is necessary and avoid meaningless banter. Voice opinions when asked, and only if you feel it is necessary.  Word is power, use it wisely. (Silence)
  7. Resolution– Decide. Resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve. (Resolution)
  8. Industry– Do not waste your precious time. Forever be employed in something useful that moves you toward your goals. Cut off unnecessary action and distractions. (Industry)
  9. Health– Do things that benefit you, avoid things that do not. Replace bad habits with healthy ones. Eat clean, sleep well, exercise, and meditate.

Now that you have a clear example of a moral code, go and set about forming your own. Be your own moral compass. Stay tuned for my expansion of each of my virtues. Here are two more examples to help you along your way.

Benjamin Franklins 13 Virtues:

  1. Temperance– Eat not to dullness, drink not to elevation.
  2. Silence– Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself, avoid trifling conversation.
  3. Order- Let all your things have their places; let each part of your business have its time.
  4. Resolution– Resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve.
  5. Frugality– Make no expense but to do good for yourself and others; waste nothing.
  6. Industry– Lose no time; be always employed in something useful. Cut off all unnecessary action.
  7. Sincerity– Use no hurtful deceit. Think innocently and justly, and, if you speak, speak accordingly.
  8. Justice– wrong none by doing injuries, or omitting the benefits that are your duty.
  9. Moderation– Avoid extremes; forbear resenting injuries so much as you think they deserve.
  10. Cleanliness– Tolerate no uncleanliness in body, clothes, or habitation.
  11. Tranquility– Be not disturbed at trifles, or at accidents common or unavoidable.
  12. Chastity– Rarely use venery but for health or offspring, never to dullness, weakness, or the injury of your own or another’s peace or reputation.
  13. Humility– Imitate Jesus and Socrates.

The Seven Principals of Bushido:

  1. Gi– The right decision, the right attitude, the truth. When we must die; we must die. Rectitude.
  2. Yu– Bravery tinged with heroism.
  3. Jin– Universal love, benevolence.
  4. Rei– Right action, courtesy.
  5. Makoto– Utter sincerity: truthfulness.
  6. Melyo– Honor, and glory.
  7. Chugo– Devotion, loyalty.



One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s